Our Committee Members


Steve Hawkins


Steve is a teacher at Casuarina Senior College working in the Humanities, English and Cross Disciplinary learning areas, with previous experience working in ESL and special education. He is a board member for the Geography History Teachers Association of the Northern Territory.

In his time as a Territory educator, Steve has taught in urban, regional and remote locations and has supported teachers and schools across the NT in departmental roles in curriculum and Aboriginal education. He has a particular interest in education in the senior secondary space.

Having worked in diverse educational spaces from very remote Aboriginal centres to multicultural urban schools, Steve has a broad understanding of the issues facing Territory teachers and is passionate about supporting educators to provide high quality inclusive education to students wherever they live and whatever their background and experience.


Jenni Webber

Vice President

Jenni is the Teaching & Learning Manager at Arnhem School Improvement Team with the Department of Education and is the Vice President of PTANT. Jenni leads the management committee with excitement and passion, enhancing member associations’ important work to grow NT educators’ professional capacity and strengthen student learning.

Jenni is an executive member of the Science Teachers’ Association of the NT (STANT) and also the Treasurer for the Australian Science Teachers Association (ASTA).  Jenni has been active across a range of professional associations throughout her career, with a focus on science in the last 10 years. 

Jenni’s passion is science, sustainability and environmental education, supporting staff and students to engage with local environments.  She is a strong advocate for the integration of Indigenous Knowledge and Western Science to make meaning of and to care for our shared landscapes.

Andrea Fulton


Andrea is the Systemic Assessment Consultant in the Quality Teaching & Learning Team with the Department of Education and the Secretary of PTANT.

A Territory educator since 1983 Andrea has worked in primary and middle schools in a variety of roles and has supported teachers and school leaders in various corporate roles in Curriculum T-9, ESL methodology, assessment and data literacy.

Andrea has been a long term member of ALEA Top End Council and ATESOL NT executive committees and a member of the steering committee for the 2014 ALEA National Conference and 2017 PTANT Festival of Teaching.  She is passionate about continuous improvement and providing quality professional learning for teachers.


Rebecca Johnson


Rebecca is the Senior Manager, Partnerships and Programs (Curriculum) with the Department of Education, she is the current Treasurer for PTANT and she works closely with the Executive Officer.

Rebecca is also the Treasurer for the Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation (ACHPER) NT branch, Rebecca has been on the ACHPER executive since 2000.

Rebecca’s passion is health education; upskilling teachers and school staff with knowledge, strategies and confidence to deliver up to date, evidence based health education for all NT students.



Graeme Sawyer

Executive Member

Graeme Sawyer is the Vice President on the National Executive Board for the Australian Association for Environment Education (AAEE), the President of AAEE NT and is the Managing Director at Entity 1. Graeme has a background in Education firstly as a teacher and then an educational adviser regarding technology in learning environments. Before moving into online business technology development and associated areas he worked as a lecturer and the NT University now CDU.

Graeme moved into the internet/ multimedia / ebusiness arena in 1995 with QANTM multimedia as a part of the creative nation project, researching and developing internet capabilities. In 2000 Graeme moved to entity1 to focus on the business management and ebusiness areas as well as general multimedia and e-learning and is also working in the BITS incubator Original IT as the chair of the mentor panel and the selection panel for business incubatees in the IT area.

Graeme worked on a range of business consultancies and projects, including work in indigenous communities. In 2003 I ran a research project, Closing the Digital Divide, looking at e-delivery of education and management support into remote communities.

In 2008 Graeme was elected as the Lord Mayor of Darwin and served a 4 year term. Graeme is passionately involved in wildlife issues since 1990 when he developed a multimedia integrated information system about native plants and animals. The system featured as a Questacon display for 7 years and was part of award winning project in indigenous education.

M Bunnett

Mark Bunnett

Executive Member

Mark is the President of Drama Territory.

His first teaching job was at a remote school out of Katherine followed by several years in Darwin primary schools. Following a career in the Royal Australian Navy Mark returned to teaching and took up the position of drama teacher at Darwin High School in 2017.

He is passionate about drama in education spent his years in primary schools incorporating drama across the curriculum before moving on to teach secondary school drama. He also has extensive experience as an actor in theatre productions.

Mark is committed to supporting the drama teachers, and teachers who are interested in drama, by providing quality professional development opportunities that will give teachers the knowledge to enhance student’s learning experiences and provide them with a range of skills and qualities that would be useful in any future career.

Lenny (Copy)


Executive Member

Lenny draws over 20 years of experiences as a teacher educator in Asia and Australia. She has a diverse teaching background having worked across Early Childhood, Primary, Secondary, Gifted and Special Education and Distance Education. Her particular interests include: problem solving, parents involvement in gifted education, differentiating pedagogy for gifted students, including underachievers.

She is currently teaching at Northern Territory School of Distance Education, working in the Mathematics learning areas and is the Secretary for the Northern Territory Association for the Education of the Gifted and Talented (NTAEGT).


Lvl 11, Mitchell Centre. 55-59 Mitchell Street
Darwin NT 0801

Phone: 08 8944 9324

ABN: 463 302 816 41