About Us

In 1995 the Northern Territory Joint Council of Professional Teachers' Association Incorporated was established.

In 2015 the Northern Territory Joint Council changed its name to the Professional Teachers’ Association of the Northern Territory. The change in name better reflects the professional work of professional teaching associations and their volunteer members.

The professional interests of teachers are represented on the Teacher Registration Board of the Northern Territory. PTANT is one of 12 representative organisations that make up the Board.

PTANT currently has observer status on the Northern Territory Board of Studies. PTANT will be looking to work closely with the new Board when it comes into existence later in the year.

2018-19 Executive Management Committee

President – Jenni Webber | Member Association – Science Teachers' Association of the Northern Territory

Vice President – Pam Adam | Member Association – Australian Literacy Educators Association of the Northern Territory

Treasurer – Rebecca Johnson | Member Association – Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation (NT Chapter)

Secretary – Steve Hawkins | Member Association – Geography and History Teachers' Association of the NT

Executive Member - Virg Hughes | Member Association - Australian Association Special Education (NT Chapter)

Executive Member – Ambrose Nicholls-Skene | Member Association – Australian Society for Music Education

Executive Member – Graeme Sawyer | Member Association – Australian Association for Environmental Education


Lvl 11, Mitchell Centre. 55-59 Mitchell Street
Darwin NT 0801

Phone: 08 8944 9324

ABN: 463 302 816 41